Ramblings of a work-at-home mom

Eating Clean is a way of life. It’s not a diet!

I started “eating clean” about three weeks ago. I have always been a pretty healthy cook and shopper when it comes to the food my family eats, but recently I have really started taking a serious hard interest in nutrition. I can’t read enough about it! Thus I landed upon the Eat-Clean Diet books by Tosca Reno.

I have been cooking clean healthy items for my family ever since and I would say we eat 90% clean. Sure I have a cheat meal here and there, but I got to tell you that most of the times that I have cheated I actually regretted it. Those foods don’t taste the same to me anymore. I can taste the chemicals! I also can’t handle the HUGE portion sizes of fast food.

If you aren’t familiar with what eating clean means, its not rocket science I promise! It means eating whole natural foods containing no preservatives, artificial colors or flavorings. Eat nothing processed and choose organic whenever possible. The principles are pretty simple. Pair a complex carbohydrate with a lean protein 5 to 6 times a day (small meals). Yes! You get to eat a lot of food! It’s actually not a diet at all. It’s a way of life.

My kids and husband have been great. They are not hungry or lacking for great tasting food. In fact they ask for MORE! My toddler wakes up asking for good old-fashioned oatmeal. She likes hers with chopped apples and a good bit of cinnamon, almond milk, flax-seed and wheatgerm.

This way of eating has opened up ingredients for me that I had no clue even existed. Foods like coconut oil and yogurt cheese for example. If you are looking to get your family to eat this way, there are some great blogs out there on the topic of “eating clean”. My favorite blog is www.thegraciouspantry.com. Visit it today and you will find loads of recipes! I am super excited about making a clean ranch dressing that I also found on this blog. Buttermilk is already on the next grocery list. 🙂 We tried the Spaghetti Pie recipe from this blog for dinner tonight and it was delish! (Also made the house smell so yummy….) It was perfect paired with a garden salad drizzled with a vinaigrette dressing.

Here is a picture of tonight’s finished product.

Leave a Reply

