Ramblings of a work-at-home mom

Goal Setting Simplified (Periodically Analyze Your Progress)

Goal setting is such a basic component in owning your own business, yet sometimes it’s sadly overlooked. It’s too bad that so many don’t realize that a business without goals is not likely to grow and prosper. How will you push ahead if you don’t know where you want to go? By setting goals you allow yourself the ability to grow, not just financially, but in other areas as well.

Typically this is the time of year that I reflect on the business goals that I have set for myself in January. Am I moving forward? Have I reached any of the goals that I have set out? Hopefully by the time May and June rolls around I will have accomplished at least some of the minor goals for myself, as well as laid the foundation towards reaching those larger goals. This year I have worked very closely with some of my key business partners to launch a fresh new team web-site. That goal took a little longer than we would have liked, but you have to factor in the fact that not a single one of us had a clue how to begin! We simply shared a vision and went with it, one day at a time. One of my other seriously important goals for the year is to narrow down the basics of using social media for business. Sure I have a Facebook profile and a Twitter profile. However my you-tube channel is still empty, and my blog is well… NEW! By year-end my plan is to understand the basics of social media, share that knowledge with my partners and begin to really integrate social media tools along with the more traditional marketing methods that continue to stand the test of time and work for us.

However merely setting goals for myself does not work. I need a plan! I have to put the pedal to the metal! In order to make my business goals a reality, I have found it necessary to schedule a couple of activities daily that will push me forward in reaching them. This is again where the famous to-do list comes in so handy! In fact this blog-post is on my to do list today. Right alongside picking up eggs at the grocery store I will also set tasks for myself that will advance me closer to my business minded goals that I have set.

I encourage you to take a few minutes today to reflect on your business goals. How are you coming along? Do you have a plan? Do you need more research? Do you need a budget? Chances are you could be doing something a little more frequently to make your goals become a reality. Figure out what your major goal is you want to accomplish. The every day on your to-do list make sure you add daily activities that will help you achieve that goal!

Leave a Reply

